Home > breakfast, snacks, sweets > Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Whole Wheat Banana Bread

The smell of ripening  bananas always reminds me of my maternal grandfather, who swore his longevity was due to a steady diet of overripe bananas, watermelon and chicken fat. Who am I to argue? He lived to be 97-ish. Probably because of my grandpa, I don’t really like the smell of ripe bananas and I tend to eat mine with a tinge of green, no hint of brown. I don’t really eat watermelon either.

But, we had some overripe bananas lying around and I didn’t want to throw them out. Plus, I finally have loaf pans here in Chicago–perfect time for banana bread! I used this recipe from epicurious (which I have been using for years) with some modifications:

  • Whole wheat flour instead of white flour…results in the denser texture you expect from switching to whole wheat
  • Instead of 1 cup of sugar, I used a 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of brown sugar
  • I didn’t have chocolate chips but did have some dark chocolate with ancho & chipotle chiles and cinnamon from Trader Joe’s. I chopped four triangles and stirred them in…nowhere close to 3/4 cup but just enough to add some sweetness (and spicy, too!). I’ve never had spicy banana bread before so it is slightly weird but still tastes good.
  • Skipped the nuts

Finally, some before and after shots:

Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Whole Wheat Banana Bread

Categories: breakfast, snacks, sweets Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

