Home > Italian, leftovers, pasta > Asparagus Risotto

Asparagus Risotto

Asparagus & Chicken Risotto

Yet another use for roast chicken leftovers!!

I think I have a fair grasp of risotto basics now so this time, I didn’t follow a recipe (if you’re looking for one, try this mushroom risotto)…I just made it up as I went along. It all started because I wanted to clear out the freezer–there was a backlog of roast chicken carcasses that needed to be made into a broth. So, I simmered the bones with water and a knob of ginger for several hours (I took off as much meat as possible from the bones as soon as the broth had warmed up so that it wouldn’t be mealy):

Asparagus & Chicken Risotto

Then I sauteed chopped asparagus and the scrounged pieces of chicken meat with some butter, salt & pepper and set it aside:

Asparagus & Chicken Risotto

Asparagus & Chicken Risotto

Then it is just a matter of making the risotto. Heat some olive oil & garlic, drop in the arborio rice and stir for a bit. Throw in some dry white wine (I used sake because that’s what we were drinking). Once that’s absorbed, just start stirring in warm chicken broth a 1/2 cup or so at a time until the rice fully absorbs the broth and everything is cooked. To help heighten the asparagus flavor, I blended some raw asparagus & chicken broth and let the risotto absorb that halfway through. When the rice was cooked, I took it off the heat, stirred in the asparagus & chicken and added parmesan, blue cheese, black pepper and hot pepper flakes.

Asparagus & Chicken Risotto

A few days later, I did the same thing at my apartment (to also clear out the freezer) and made another batch. This time, I only had boxed parmesan cheese and a leftover chinese sausage (which I will admit is kind of weird with risotto but still pretty good). I also had less arborio rice than I thought, so there was a bit of an imbalance between meat and rice. Oh well!

Asparagus risotto round 2

I think I am ready to try making a batch of uni risotto, which I always order when I am in LA.

Categories: Italian, leftovers, pasta Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

