Home > soup > Mushroom Soup

Mushroom Soup

My car is buriedThe view from our window…my car is buried in snow

I love making big pots of soup in the winter. The soup keeps getting better in the days after it is first made and its the perfect way to warm your insides when it is freezing cold outside. When I was working, soup was a delicious meal which lasted for a few days (and I never tired of it). I usually prepared this after dinner before I went to bed…and dinner the following night was taken care of! One of my favorites is mushroom soup.

Mushroom soup

This recipe is really easy (ok, nothing I make is that difficult) and is based on a recipe from Anthony Bourdain’s Les Halles Cookbook. I was first attracted to this recipe several years ago because it doesn’t call for any cream. While I love mushroom soup, heavy cream does not agree with me (I usually cannot order mushroom soups in restaurants for this very reason). This recipe reminds me of the most delicious mushroom soup I have ever had (back in 2007 at Aria in Chicago):

Mushroom Soup

Deliciously thick and mushroomy! Here’s my version:

Mushroom soup
Mushroom soup

Mushroom soup
Mushroom soup

Not pretty but certainly delicious!

If you follow the original recipe, you will undoubtedly have a pretty good mushroom soup on your hands. My adaptations:

  • Double the mushrooms: triple if you dare–the more the better! It doesn’t mess with the proportions…your soup will just be thicker…you can easily thin it down with some stock if you want. Use any kind of mushrooms. I’ve used baby bella, portabello, button, shitaake, wild mushrooms…mix it up!
  • Add two small diced potatoes: it helps thicken the soup without having to use cream.
  • Add 3 cloves minced garlic: because everything’s better with garlic
  • Skip the sherry: I never have any on hand and I don’t really know what it is anyway.
  • Add shallots: because I always think they are tastier than onions
  • Because I had leftover sour cream in the fridge, I served this last batch with a dollop of sour cream–YUM!



Categories: soup Tags: , ,
  1. cristina yoon
    February 16, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    i tried it and it was delicious! thanks.

  1. March 19, 2011 at 6:43 pm

Leave a Reply

