Home > pasta, sides > Pasta Salad

Pasta Salad

Whole wheat pasta salad w/chicken

I love tuna and chicken salad sandwiches. However, I never order them because you never know who puts raw onions in theirs. I have also seen the rare raisin in chicken salad and there is nothing I hate more on this earth more than raisins. While I love caramelized onions, I can’t stand the smell of raw onions on one’s breath. I can smell when Joel has eaten raw onions for lunch and will avoid kissing him. Luckily, he’s a fast learner and usually picks raw onions out now. Smart boy!

While I was in class supposedly learning about how to successfully lead change within a company, I instead was thinking about what I would put into my pasta salad. I asked Joel to boil up some whole wheat penne and throw it into the fridge. When I arrived, I quickly threw it all together:

  • a large can of chicken breast
  • a few squirts of mustard
  • a big squirt of ranch dressing
  • an even bigger squirt of wasabi mayonnaise (but not too much because I didn’t want it to be overly creamy like a Hawaiian mac salad)
  • three stalks of diced celery
  • chopped green beans (leftover from shrimp & grits night)
  • capers
  • copious amounts of black pepper

Mixed it all up and we had a delicious dinner! While the pasta lacked color (just green & white) it was packed with flavor (mmm wasabi!). This is a really easy recipe (if you can call it one) that can accommodate whatever you want: celery root, brocolli, edamame, kalamata olives, horseradish cream…whatever. I’ve never made anything like this but will definitely make it again–especially when I’m pressed for time.

For lunch the next day, we shared the last of the shrimp & grits. This time, it was on top of chipotle cheddar grits–YUM!

Shrimp & grits for two

Categories: pasta, sides Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

