Home > Cooking at home, food, meat > Red-wine Braised Oxtail

Red-wine Braised Oxtail

Red-wine braised oxtail

This dish takes some time and a little bit of work, so it isn’t something you can really whip up after a long day at the office. Luckily, I don’t have an office to come back from and was on winter break from school when I made this. Of course, you can pop the oxtail in the crockpot before you leave for work and, if you don’t mind the fat, serve it over some mashed potatoes, polenta, or even grits.

First, I halved the recipe since I knew that 6 lbs of oxtail would be too much for the two of us–I made the mistake of cooking 6 lbs of short ribs last year and we ate those for weeks!

Red-wine braised ox-tailsChopped carrots, celery, shallots, leeks, and onions for the sauce.

Red-wine braised ox-tailsRoasting 3 lbs of oxtails in the oven.

Other adjustments:

  • I salted & peppered the oxtails and roasted them in the oven (no butter) for 45 minutes before throwing the meat, veggies & stock in the crockpot for 6 hours. I then put everything in the fridge so I could easily skim off the fat the next day.
  • While the recipe calls for a full bottle of wine (I used an $11.99 Malbec from Trader Joe’s), I kept a glass for myself to drink.
  • The recipe also says to strain the stock and discard the vegetables. I started doing that but realized it was a pain in the ass and what’s wrong with some vegetables with my oxtail? So I left the rest in and will leave all of it in next time.
  • I didn’t have any parsley stems and only had bay leaves & dried thyme on hand.

Red-wine braised oxtail

As you can see, it resulted in some delicious fall-off-the-bone oxtail which we served with pan-fried gnocchi (a separate entry for later) the first night…and then put on pizza the following night.

Pan-fried gnocchi & red wine braised oxtailRed-wine braised oxtail with homemade pan-fried gnocchi…tasty!

Pan-fried gnocchi & red wine braised oxtailThe flavor reminded me a bit of borscht, so I threw a dollop of sour cream on top…divine!

Dinner: PizzaLast night, we put the oxtails on top of some bbq pizza…delish!

Categories: Cooking at home, food, meat Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. January 8, 2010 at 6:35 pm

Leave a Reply

