Home > Cooking at home, food, sides > Thanksgiving sides – creamed spinach & corn pudding

Thanksgiving sides – creamed spinach & corn pudding

November 28, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

My contributions for Thanksgiving this year were corn pudding and creamed spinach. Instead of a turkey, there was roast chicken. Had there been a turkey, I would have made my bro’s roommate’s Jes’ grandma’s (get that?) cranberry salsa.

Last weekend, Jes made the most amazing pre-Thanksgiving dinner with the most succulent turkey I’ve ever tasted (even the white meat was moist!), lovely portabello gravy, sourdough stuffing, cranberry salsa, and so much more. My brother’s lucky to live with such a fine cook (she’s the pastry chef at the Four Seasons). I’ll share the cranberry salsa recipe with you some other time…when I make it. As a teaser, it includes cherry jell-o…amazing!

When I saw the creamed spinach recipe on Smitten Kitchen I knew I had to try it. As a native Californian, I tend to enjoy my vegetables fresh and fairly unadulterated. However, I knew that wouldn’t go over well for a midwestern Thanksgiving feast. Besides, its Thanksgiving–gluttony at its best!

I stayed pretty true to the recipe but omitted the garlic since Joel’s grandma doesn’t like it (which I think is nuts, but I’m not going to argue). I also mis-read the recipe when I was doubling it so didn’t buy enough cream. However, I threw in some low-fat milk to make up for it and couldn’t tell the difference–the recipe was still rich and creamy. I would definitely make this again, but maybe add a little bit more spinach next time since I like my vegetables…well…more vegetable-y. I sprinkled some shaved parmesan on top and it was a hit!

I also made corn pudding. My cousin has been making this for family dinners for years, but this was my first attempt:

There’s a little crater in the middle from tin foil hitting the pudding…I had to cook it a little earlier and set it aside since we needed room in the oven for the roast and the chickens. Here’s the recipe:

CORN PUDDING

1 (15 1/4 – ounce) can whole kernel corn, drained
1 (13 3/4 – ounce) can cream-style corn
1 (8 ounce) package corn muffin mix … use Jiffy
1 cup sour cream
1/2 c. (1 stick) unsweetened butter
1/2 c. shredded cheddar cheese … optional

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  2. Combine:  both cans of corn, corn muffin, sour cream, and melted butter.
  3. Pour mixture into greased pan
  4. Bake for 45 minutes
  5. Sprinkle cheddar cheese on pudding then put in oven till it melts

Random thoughts:

  • I’ve had the corn pudding with pancetta and its even more delicious (can’t fail with pork!). Might try adding it to the creamed spinach too.
  • Hopefully my food photography improves with this blog.
  • Capped the evening off with a lovely bottle of 2006 Vintage Syrah from Joseph Phelps. The things I used to take for granted…California wine is such a treat these days.
  • Thanksgiving was difficult this year as it was our first without mom. Christmas will be even more difficult.
  1. August 29, 2010 at 7:09 am

    Here is a recipe for The Berghoff’s famous creamed spinach:
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/08/29/the-berghoffs-famous-creamed-spinach/

  1. November 28, 2010 at 3:04 pm

Leave a Reply

