Home > Booze, Cooking at home, food, pasta, wine > Spicy Peanut Noodles

Spicy Peanut Noodles

November 15, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

We want to share with you the food we make at home, what we eat at restaurants, and the booze we are drinking. As we get older, our minds fail.

Spicy Peanut Noodles

Shredded chicken

Last night I made spicy peanut noodles, based on this recipe from Food & Wine. I have made this once before and it is super quick and easy–definitely something you can do when you get home from a long day of work…or you can even make it the day before.

I added shredded carrots and pieces of roasted chicken and it was sooooo good. Can’t wait to eat the leftovers tonight! I would also recommend using only half of the crushed red pepper that was called for. I found it a little spicy, which I like, but may be a bit overwhelming for other people. I always like being able to add spice to taste rather than being tied to it.

Robert Sinskey 2004 Cabernet Sauvignon

Unless there is reason to open a good bottle of wine, I usually drink cheaper Argentinian/Chilean wines out here in Chicago. California wines are marked up quite a bit here and as a student, I can’t really afford that. On a weekday, the South American Malbecs are more than sufficient. However, yesterday was an emotional day so I soothed myself with a delicious 2004 Robert Sinskey that I brought with me when I moved from San Francisco to Chicago. Smooth, rich, and deeply flavorful…I do miss having the financial resources to drink good wines all the time. Rather, I miss my corporate AmEx.

I’ll let Joel tell you about his latest obsession with Oatmeal Stouts.

  1. TL
    January 6, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    my mom also adds bean sprouts, juliennes cucumber and slices strips of egg omelette.

  2. Lan
    January 27, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    made this again last night, but with whole wheat spaghettini. I added the egg omelette strips–YUM!

  1. November 28, 2009 at 9:18 pm
  2. February 18, 2010 at 11:12 am

Leave a Reply

