Home > Latin American, Peru, salad, sides, travels, vegetables, vegetarian > Roasted Broccoli & Quinoa Salad

Roasted Broccoli & Quinoa Salad

Machu Picchu

View of Machu Picchu from the Sun Gate

We just got back from our belated honeymoon in Peru: a few days acclimating to the altitude in Cusco, 4 days/3 nights hiking the Inca Trail, a few days relaxing at a resort & spa in the Sacred Valley and then New Year’s Even and another few days eating my weight in ceviche in Lima.

I knew the Inca Trail would be a personal challenge but at no point did I ever hit a wall, as I often do while running. Hiking the Inca Trail was an amazing experience: it allowed me the time to reflect on my own life, learn about the history of the Quechua/Inca, practice my terrible Spanish, and take in some crazy views that I will probably never experience again in this lifetime. When we finally arrived to Machu Picchu, I never wanted to leave…except a beer, shower and clean bed (in that order) sounded pretty good.

Finished the Inca Trail!

So happy to have finished the Inca Trail!

On Christmas Eve, the day before we embarked on the trail, we had lunch at Chicha, a Gaston Acurio restaurant in Cusco. We shared an amazing bowl that reminded me of a Peruvian take on Korean bibimbap: Peking-style roasted cuy (guinea pig), red quinoa, lightly pickled veggies, some spicy sauce and fried quail eggs in a bowl. The guinea pig was tasty–I expected it to taste similar to rabbit (which I don’t like) but instead, it reminded me of quail. YUM.

Cuy

Peking-style roasted cuy (guinea pig) & quinoa bowl with fried quail eggs at Chicha in Cusco

After a red-eye back from Lima, we were starving. I wandered around Whole Foods and picked up some really random groceries but somehow I ended up with red quinoa (something I’ve never cooked but was inspired to buy based on the cuy bowl), broccoli, feta and tomatoes. Google yielded a tasty looking recipe that I will be making many variations of moving forward. Tasty and filling!

Roasted broc, red quinoa, feta and tomatoes

Roasted Broccoli & Quinoa Salad

Roasted Broccoli & Quinoa Salad (adapted from Beloved Green)

yields approximately 3-4 main servings. Since tomatoes aren’t great right now, I may try roasting the tomatoes next time to sweeten them up a bit.

  • 1 bunch of broccoli
  • 1 lemon
  • pinch of red pepper flakes
  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups vegetable or chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup crumbled feta
  • handful of cherry tomatoes
  • salt & pepper to taste
  1. Preheat oven to 425F
  2. Cut broccoli into florets. On a baking sheet, drizzle florets with olive oil and juice of half a lemon. Add tomatoes now if you want to roast them. Season with red pepper flakes, salt and pepper to taste. Roast in the oven for ~15 minutes or when broccoli begins to brown.
  3. Thoroughly rinse quinoa. Bring 2 cups of broth to a boil and add quinoa. Lower heat to simmer and cook until done (when the little tail comes out, ~15 minutes). Remove from heat and let cool for ~5 minutes. Fluff with a fork.
  4. In a bowl, combine broccoli, quinoa, feta and tomatoes. Add extra lemon juice to taste and season with salt & pepper.
  1. Ani
    January 5, 2014 at 9:11 pm

    I love quinoa salads! Especially with roasted veggies :) I just posted a moroccan spiced quinoa salad with sweet potatoes and chickpeas that you might enjoy.

  2. January 10, 2014 at 9:54 pm

    chicha was my favorite meal in cusco, maybe peru.

  1. January 15, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 254 other followers

