Home > soup, vegetables > French Onion Soup

French Onion Soup

French Onion Soup

What do you do when you have a sack of onions from Costco that you have to use right away? French onion soup! We had a lot of onions leftover from the crawfish boil two weeks ago and I didn’t want them to go to waste. Since we will be traveling for the next month, I have been on a mission to cook and eat all perishables. This has gone a little bit further than intended so we’ve also been eating through the freezer and pantry…probably could have used some fresh vegetables in the past few days, but oh well! I would call this mission a success.

I didn’t know what else to do with that many onions, we had some bread and cheese to get through, and I also had some beef broth in the pantry that I didn’t really know what to do with. French onion soup seemed to make sense, despite the fact that it is 85 degrees out. Luckily, we have air conditioning!

I found a recipe for French Onion Soup at Simply Recipes and went from there. Per usual, my modifications:

  • Used half beef broth and half chicken broth because that’s what I had in the pantry. Obviously a homemade stock would have been better but at the very least, stick to beef broth…the flavor is more authentic.
  • I used a thick slice of ciabatta, which I toasted before dropping into the soup and throwing into the oven. I don’t know if it made a difference, but it seemed like the right thing to do. I forgot that the bread would expand while soaking up the soup so I ended up with a bit more bread than I would have liked. Next time, I would only use enough bread to cover half (or less) of the top.
  • Had some random cheeses in the fridge, so didn’t bother using “authentic” cheese. I think one was a Swiss Emmentaler from Fair Oaks Farms and the other was some grated parmesan.
  • I used the smallest oven-proof dishes I had but it was a good size for a lunch portion (that’s all we had for lunch).
  • My onions never caramelized…I think because I stirred too much. Or I got impatient…the next World Cup match was starting soon and I didn’ t want to be cooking after kickoff!

French Onion Soup

This is what 6 sliced yellow onions looks like

French Onion Soup

This is the 6 yellow onions that never caramelized

French Onion Soup

French Onion Soup

French Onion Soup

Despite no caramelization, it tasted good anyway! Cover anything in bubbling cheese and it is hard to fail.

Posts will be sporadic or non-existant for the next month as we explore London, South Africa and Namibia!

Categories: soup, vegetables Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. July 25, 2012 at 11:26 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 217 other followers

