Home > Southern > Red Beans & Rice

Red Beans & Rice

Red Beans (w/o the rice)

For the crawfish boil, I also prepared a pot of red beans and rice. I didn’t eat any at the party (gas!!) but the bite I tried was delicious…the pot was empty by the end and I got many thumbs up, so I guess it was a success! It was also very easy to prepare and I heard it went really well with the mac and cheese too (that a friend brought over). I didn’t get a picture of the red beans over rice as I had already had too much sweet tea vodka by the time we started eating, but oh well.

I used this recipe from Simply Recipes and the only adjustment I made was to use smoked ham hocks instead of shanks (because that’s what they had at the store). Oh, and I also chopped a few chicken andouille sausages into the pot.

Red Beans (w/o the rice)

Categories: Southern Tags: ,
  1. June 15, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    Nothing like a cooking a little Southern food to liven up the party. Hammocks were a great addition.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 245 other followers

